RETURNING

“Through this sting was Amor made wiser.

The untiring deceiver

concocted another battle-plan:

he lurked beneath the carnations and roses

and when a maiden came to pick them,

he flew out as a bee and stung her.”

Gotthold Ephraim Lessing Schadenfreude

“Your ticket Mame?” The conductor asked as I pushed my knapsack further up on my shoulder and started to feel for my ticket in my leather jacket’s breast pocket. I looked around the busy Amtrak platform; everyone was rushing, pulling their wheeled luggage. They were either heading to adventures or home. I was on my way home.

“Sleeping car, down to the left Mame . Is there more luggage?”

“No just this.” He handed back my ticket. I entered the train.

Copyright 2014 Digestible Ink

To hear more of this excerpt, here’s a link to the audio.

https://www.yakitome.com/tts?a=T&b=1130302&c=1RbWAulSD&d=T

Leave a Reply

