Music Break: Dance with the Hours

Its happened. We have lost one minute of daylight in the northern hemisphere. Summer is here and she is slipping away every day. What do we do? Clench an angry fist at the sky? Buy new shoes before the sale? Eat a whole tub of Heavenly Hash ice cream? No. We Dance!

We can’t control the uncontrollable dear readers. These escaping minutes happen every year. And did you know, it comes back to us? So…dance!

Ponchielli wrote this piece for Act II in the opera a La Gioconda. This melody was also spoofed by Allen Sherman 1963 in the most popular song about a kid writing to his parents from summer camp. It’s a hilarious piece and you’ll find the song and its lyrics below.

I never went to summer camp.My city summers were spent playing outside, reading on rainy days or playing hide ‘n seek until the all too shattering call from our mom’s to come in. I must admit, the day when no one wanted to play the game, until the sky eased into indigo, was a moment that still tweaks my stomach. It was the end of childhood and the longest summers.The girls of our street wanted to check out the cute boy on the corner and the guys who ran against us and plotted spy games with us were interested in cars and getting their driver’s license. Time is illusive. It changes us, it compels us, it pulls us back and leaves us questioning.

I hope your summer is off to a great start. If not then … just dance!

-DI

The lyrics:

Hello mother, hello father,
Here I am at Camp Grenada.
Camp is very entertaining,
And they say we`ll have some fun if it stops raining!

I went hiking with Joyce Fivey,
He developed poison ivy.
You remember Lennard Skynard,
He got tomain poisoning last night after dinner!

All the counselors hate the waiters,
And the lake has alligators!
And the head coach wants no sissies,
So he reads to us from something called `Ulysses`.

No, I don`t want (this should scare ya),
But my bunkmate has malaria!
You remember Geoffrey Hardy,
They`re about to organize a searching party!

Take me home, oh mother, father.
Take me home, I hate Grenada.
Don`t leave me out in the forest,
Where I might get eaten by a bear!

Take me home, I promise that I will not make noise,
Or mess the house with other boys.
Oh please don`t make me stay;
I`ve been here one whole day!

Dearest father, darling mother,
How`s my precious little brother?
Let me come home if you miss me;
I would even let Aunt Bertha hug and kiss me!

Wait a minute; it stopped hailing.
Guys are swimming, guys are sailing.
Playing baseball; gee that`s better.
Mother, father, kindly disregard this letter!

LYRICS FROM: http://www.lyricsbay.com/hello_mother_hello_father_lyrics-spike_jones.html

Leave a Reply

