Music Break: La Mer

Such a classic summer song or end of summer melody. I’m not sure why, but I think of France in month of August.

Here it’s sung by Charles Trenet, (1946) in my small opinion , the best version and a completely different lyric then the English recording written by Jack Lawrence. Trenet first wrote the poem when he was sixteen , then after WWII he played around with the idea of a song and started on a melody while he was traveling on a train.

Bobby Darin (1959) released the single with Jack Lawrence’s lyric and Kevin Spacey played Bobby Darin in the movie “Beyond the Sea” (2004) chronicling Mr. Darin’s successful career.

A la Kevin Spacey, in a dream sequence as he courted Sandra Dee…

Frank Sinatra’s version, sly and brash…

I still enjoy the French version, with the lyrics describing a moody sea scape. Read more about this famous French singer here on Wiki.

Le Brégançonnet

Beyond the Sea

Somewhere beyond the sea
Somewhere waitin’ for me
My lover stands on golden sands
And watches the ships that go sailin’

Somewhere beyond the sea
She’s there watchin’ for me
If I could fly like birds on high
Then straight to her arms I’d go sailin’

It’s far beyond the stars
It’s near beyond the moon
I know beyond a doubt
My heart will lead me there soon

We’ll meet beyond the shore
We’ll kiss just as before
Happy we’ll be beyond the sea
And never again I’ll go sailin’

I know beyond a doubt
My heart will lead me there soon
We’ll meet, I know we’ll meet, beyond the shore
We’ll kiss just as before
Happy we’ll be beyond the sea
And never again I’ll go sailin’

No more sailin’, so long sailin’
Bye, bye sailin’
Move on out, captain

French Version

La Mer

Beaulieu-BaieDesFourmisC-20071102

La mer
Qu’on voit danser le long des golfes clairs
A des reflets d’argent
La mer
Des reflets changeants
Sous la pluie

La mer
Au ciel d’été confond
Ses blancs moutons
Avec les anges si purs
La mer bergère d’azur
Infinie

Voyez
Près des étangs
Ces grands roseaux mouillés
Voyez
Ces oiseaux blancs
Et ces maisons rouillées

La mer
Les a bercés
Le long des golfes clairs
Et d’une chanson d’amour
La mer
A bercé mon cœur pour la vie

English translation

The sea
You see dancing along limpid gulfs
Has silvery shimmers
The sea –
Shimmers that veer
In the rain

The sea
Under a summer sky
Merges whitecaps
With the angels so pure
The sea, shepherdess of
Endless blue

Now look
Near the ponds
At all those tall wet reeds
Now look
At those white birds
And those rusty dwellings

The sea
Has lulled them
Along the limpid gulfs
And with a love song
The sea
Has lulled my heart for life

Taken from http://lyricstranslate.com/en/la-mer-sea.html-2#ixzz3jrg2s4na

Hope you had a great summer!
-DI

Resources: You Tube
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beyond_the_Sea_%28song%29
http://www.metrolyrics.com/beyond-the-sea-lyrics-bobby-darin.html
http://lyricstranslate.com/en/la-mer-sea.html-2
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_Mer_%28song%29

Leave a Reply

